Midget Title Winner Mark Cecil Ceases Myers Run.

The weather set a perfect scene for some great racing on Saturday night at Blue Ribbon Speedway.

The GP midgets did not disappoint when contesting their Victorian Title. Favoured driver Australia 1, Dennis Myers, got caught behind a slower car which allowed Mark Cecill to overtake him and gain an uncatchable lead. Myers drove hard to chase down Cecill but ran out of laps in the 20 lap final.

Earlier in the night Cecill, Myers and Wayne Rodda had all scored heat wins. Rodda finished third in the final and Lisa Chalcraft finished fourth.

The Formula 500’s were spectacular as usual with our Horsham drivers having a mixed nigh . Jeremy Beddison, Jock Backer, Ash Hicks and Marcus Heinrich all made the A Main in a hectic race over 20 laps.  The nippy little 500s raced with no stoppages for the whole race which made it difficult to keep track of the Horsham boys.

In the final Beddison was not far behind the leaders and finished around 5th or 6th.  Hicks and Baker where mid pack and Heinrich not far behind them.  In the heats Beddison’s car had no power in the first two races but he did much better in his other heats gaining a third in a superb passing move at the end of his 3rd heat.  Jock Baker won a heat and Ash Hicks gained a third. Heinrich was just off the pace in all of his heats.

The A main Final saw Stuart Townley charge away to win from Chad Sullivan and Greg Wickham third. Townley set a new track record for a single lap and for the 20 lap distance.

The Limited Sportsman contested the Les McMaster Trophy and a determined Mark McDonald (Horsham) chased hard to catch South Australian Joe Aston but had no luck finishing second. A deserved Aston won and Hamilton’s Craig Ansell was third. Other drivers to win podium finishes over the five heats were Sandy Williamson, Mark Bunting, Brett Horton and Clint Baker.

The Super Rods were very competitive with Shaun Toulman, Geoff Leigh and Jason Grayland contesting close finishes all night. Toulman had the edge but Leigh and Grayland were hard at his heals. The final was won by Toulmin with Leigh second and Dale Walsh third.

The 1200cc saw the dominance of young local driver Stawell’s Gemma Horrocks. Horricks won all three events. Ballarat’s Jess Solsbury , Hamilton’s Chris Ansell and Avalons Michael Skene all had podium finishes.

The Street Stocks were highlighted by the appearance of lady driver Emma Hutchinson who has purchased her own car and is now able to compete in the Street Stocks as well as the ladies events.

Hutchinson normally shares a car with Street Stock driver Richard Bansemer. Hutchinson had a good night and really tested out the male drivers. Bansemer and Luke James shared the podium finishes with Hutchinson and Swan Hill’s Kevin Apps.