Moulden Mauls Record

It was a fast and furious night at Blue Ribbon Speedway on Saturday night.  Formula 500 driver Jess Moulden (Vic53) broke the track record more than once over the nights racing. Her times were all around the 14.48 mark which bettered the old record 15.78. Moulden has taken a liking to the track as she won this same event, the Formula 500 Stampede Series round 10, at Blue Ribbon last year. Nine other drivers drove under the old record time. The Blue Ribbon track is red hot at the moment.

Moulden won two of her three heats and scorched the field in the final to win comfortably.
Vic5 Jack Lee came second and (Vic75) Andrew Bradstock third. Horsham local hero Jeremy Beddison (Vic45)raced well all night to finish 6th in the final of 20. He finished 3rd in two of his heats. The other two locals Ash Hicks(V4) gained 2 seconds in heats and Jock Baker (V29) raced without success.

One of the bad luck stories of the night saw Super rod Vic1 Jason Kavanagh who lead comfortably for more than half of the final before failing to continue after front end problems forced him out. This opened the door for Vic51 Leigh Podger and Vic21 Jason Grayland to fight out the finish. In a ding dong final few laps Podger hung on to win from Grayland and Vic2 Grant Stransfield third.

The Les McMaster Memorial for Limited Sportsmans was a closely contested series of races all night.  Vic 26 Craig Ansell gained a 1st and two 2nds in his heats, and local Mark McDonald gained three 1st placings in his heats. Locals Kevin Baker 1st and 2nd, Tim McDonald 3rd and Sandy Williamson 2nd all drove consistently and qualified for the final.

The final was a torrid race and at the end of a hard fought race.  Local star, Mark McDonald came out the winner from visiting driver Craig Ansell and the ever improving local Sandy Williamson coming in third.

The Three Litre / Productions were again interesting viewing as Brett Luy took the honours on the night from Matt Gerlach and Dan Watson.

In the V8 Trucks we saw a massive field of 9 thundering trucks. The racing was tough and honours were shared over the night with Wes Bell two 1st, Jack McGennisken , Jeremy Jardine , Dean Thomas and John Culph sharing the podium finishes.

In the ladies events Amy Yole gained three 1st placings, Katherine Wilcken three 2nd placings, Emma Wilken and Kristy Yole shared the other placings.