Landrigan Fastest In Elfin

SOURCE: The Mail-Times February 21, 1968

Dan Landrigan recorded fastest time of the day in his Elfin in Horsham Motor Sports Club’s quarter-mile sprints on Sunday.

Driving in the racing car section, Landrigan covered the distance in 16.2 seconds to win from Robert Tucker (MG TC special) 16.9 sec. and Tony Frewen (MG TC special) 17.3.

Roger Pilgrim, one of 30 competitors,  went Into , a triple spin at the end of one of his runs and came out backwards In a. cloud
of dust.

Thirteen entrants finished a 48-mile car trial after the sprints. Continue reading Landrigan Fastest In Elfin

Isaacson Wins Trial

Wimmera Mail-Times, January 31, 1968

G. Isaacson won Horsham Motor Sports Club’s car trial for standard saloon models on Sunday.

G. Ballinder and G Bethell were second and third in the 83-mile trial.

The course was from Horsham along Hamilton Road to Mockinya, through Brimpaen, Laharum and Lubeck ending at the club’s Dooen race circuit on Longerenong Road.

Isaacson driving a Falcon, lost 42 points. Ballinger, in a Holden lost 57 and Bethell in a Zephyr, lost 61 points. Continue reading Isaacson Wins Trial

Home-made Hot Rods on Show

Home-made Hot Rods on Show
Wimmera Mail-Times, November 17, 1967

Col McDonald and Bill Norris, of Mockinya, will demonstrate their home-made hot rod cars at Horsham Motor Sports Club’s  meeting at Dooen on Sunday afternoon.

McDonald and Norris, who have experience with Warrnambool Hot Rod Club, have built several high-powered cars.

Other cars at Sunday’s meeting will include Tom Edgar’s Elfin, Kerry Block’s “TQ” and Robert Tucker’s MG TC.

The new club has repaired the Dooen track and leased equipment owned by Wimmera Light Car Club, which is in recess. The club has about 35 financial members and is trying to introduce the new “hot rod sportsman” class of racing.

Members have built a quarter-mile track for the new class.

Sunday’s program will include events for anyone wanting to try out a car. There will be a barbecue after events finish

SOURCE: The Mail-Times November 17, 1967

Horsham Motorsports Club Inc.