Sprintcars Burn In Heat

What a fantastic nights racing on Saturday night as the SRA Sprintcars burnt up the track in record racing times. The weather may have been hot but this only matched the racing as the Sprinters took hundredths of seconds off the track record in the 2 lap pole shoot out. V70 John Vogels took .60 off the current track record with a lap time of 14.056.

Vogel won his two heats before coming off the pole in the 30 lap final. Dylan Jenkins, Jamie Veal , Brett Milburn, Darren Mollenoyux, Charles Hunter and Glen Sutherland performed well in the heats and contested the pole shot out as well. In the A Main final the racing was closely contested and without a stoppage Dylan Jenkin finished first ahead of Jamie Veal and John Vogel in third place.

The SRA sprint car B Main was won easily by Michael Van Bremen from Chris Solomon and Brad Foster third.

The local classes also put on some great racing as the crowd was entertained with roll overs and hard hits. John Culph tried to take the gate out , which held up racing while the grader and a front end loader where used to re straighten the gate. Culphy won the first heat of the V8 trucks and the other two heats were won by Luke James and Wes Bell.

In the limited sportsman Craig Ansell from Hamilton had 3 wins, Horsham’s Mark McDonald 3 seconds , local Sandy Williamson 2 thirds.

In the Production cars results were shared between Matt Gerlach, Luke James and ex-junior driver Daniel Simpson who had a win in only his second outing in his big commodore.

The ladies races were won by Amy Yole who was closely pushed by Emma Wilken.

In the 1200cc Juniors we saw visiting drivers James Morgan, Jack Gartner and Craig Plater take out the wins. Local junior Jayden Baker had a third finish in heat 1.