Tag Archives: Standard Saloon

Speedway Success

Wimmera Mail Times - 21st December 1973
Wimmera Mail Times – 21st December 1973

Horsham speedway drivers had a successful weekend competing at Portland, Warrnambool and Hamilton tracks.

Marion Kowarzike, competing in her first races for the season, won the only ladies’ race on Saturday night at Warrnambool and gained two thirds at Hamilton on Sunday.

Col Keam, in his first Standard Saloon car race, gained a first, a second and two thirds at Portland on Saturday night and finished third in the Standard Sportsman Aggregate for the night. He also had a first, two seconds and a third at the Hamilton raceway.

Keith Baker, in his new car, competing at Portland for the first time, gained a thirds and was sixth in the aggregate.

Ron Frew, in his Standard Sportsman, gained two first and a third at Hamilton despite tough competitions from local drivers. Gary Frew also managed to gain a third placing.

Ray Harris, competing in the A Grade Standard Saloon event at Hamilton was first.

SOURCE: The Mail-Times December 21, 1973

First Wins For Drivers

First Wins For Drivers
Wimmera Mail-Times – 1973?

Horsham racing car drivers Kevin Baker and Peter Mirtschin scored their first wins for the season at a Hamilton meeting at the weekend.

Baker and Mirtschin both members of Horsham Motor Sports Club, each took a first place in the Standard Sportsman section.

More than 60 cars from as far as Warrnambool, Portland, Coleraine, Hamilton, Horsham, Stawell and Mortlake competing at the meeting.

An official of the Horsham club said yesterday it was the best day’s racing for the season. He said cars raced under excellent conditions. A large crowd attended the meeting and there was strong competition in all races.

Continue reading First Wins For Drivers

Horsham Driver Takes State Title

Horsham Driver Takes State Title
Wimmera Mail-Times, 1972

Horsham Driver, Eric Davison, starting from 10th position, weaved his way thought the field to win the first Victorian Standard Sportsman championship on Saturday night. The championship was decided at Premier Speedway, Allansford.

Davison caught the leader Des Couch, on the 16th lap of the 25-lap championship, but took a further three laps to pass him.

Couch was probably the unlucky driver of the race in that, after leading for 19 laps, he was unable to keep up the pace because of engine trouble. He managed to last to take fourth position.

Second place-getter, Rob Tucker, having his first driver in a Standard Sportsman and Ian Fenton, third, waged a great battle throughout the race and pass Couch with two laps to go. Continue reading Horsham Driver Takes State Title

Laang Driver Wins in Melbourne

Laang Driver Wins In Melbourne
Warrnambool Standard, January 1971?

Laang driver Henry Fenton won the  Gordon Rentoul Memorial Trophy final at Brooklyn Speedway on  Saturday night, beating a field of Victoria’s top cars and drivers.

Fenton drove a perfect race in his EH Holden saloon car to take the trophy. The field consisted of top representatives of nearly 20 speedways throughout Victoria.

Fenton won his way into the Brooklyn final when he won the Laang speedway heat recently. He is also a regular driver at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway.

Premier Speedway’s representatives, Ian and George Anderson, were unplaced in the final.

Continue reading Laang Driver Wins in Melbourne

Isaacson Wins Trial

Wimmera Mail-Times, January 31, 1968

G. Isaacson won Horsham Motor Sports Club’s car trial for standard saloon models on Sunday.

G. Ballinder and G Bethell were second and third in the 83-mile trial.

The course was from Horsham along Hamilton Road to Mockinya, through Brimpaen, Laharum and Lubeck ending at the club’s Dooen race circuit on Longerenong Road.

Isaacson driving a Falcon, lost 42 points. Ballinger, in a Holden lost 57 and Bethell in a Zephyr, lost 61 points. Continue reading Isaacson Wins Trial