Tribute to Horsham Motor Sports Club president Michael Fitzgerald

He re-married to Sue Hicks on July 26, 1980. Michael had two grandchildren, Kirra and Kai. Mrs Hicks said Michael would be missed by his family and the wider community.

“Michael could be a pain and was very set in his ways, but all his mates just loved him,” she said.  “He would always be the first person there if someone needed.

“He was a diesel mechanic and a truck driver. He wanted his ashes scattered across the Nullarbor Plains, and that’s been known for many years.  “He drove many trucks across the plains and it was like home to him. I will have to take a road trip up there soon.”

Horsham Motor Sports Club and Mick Fitzgerald featured in the Wimmera Mail-Times on April 9, 2008.

Michael always had a passion for motor sports and was president of the Horsham Motor Sports Club since 2008.  In 2007, he was named a life member of the club he loved dearly. He spent many years as a committee member and competitor.

Michael lived in Geelong for a number of years but relocated to Horsham in the early 1980s and quickly became involved with the club. “He started being involved with cars when he was 19 at Hamilton and he always had to have fast cars.

“He started up here in Horsham since about 1982,” Mrs Hicks said. “He had a real passion for the club. It took us a long time to get a state title and he put a lot of work into the club. When we got the national title that was huge. He was given an award from the association and our track got an award too.”

Michael recently handed out awards at the club’s presentation night.

Mrs Hicks said Michael was always proud of his son Andrew, who is the chief executive officer of EA Sports in America.
“He idolised his son and worshipped the ground he walked on,” she said.  “We would meet up with Andrew whenever he was in Australia and went to America to spend time with him. Michael was very, very proud of him. Andrew has a beautiful personality and is very much like his dad.”

Michael suffered with type one diabetes and seven years ago had open heart surgery.
“He passed away suddenly but peacefully in his sleep,” Mrs Hicks said.

“He has gone racing.”



By Sean Wales

SOURCE: Wimmera Mail Times, October 9, 2018

Celebration of Mick

Source: Wimmera Mail-Times 08/10/2018

Dear Members, Clubs and Friends

If you are part of a Club or Racing Team, etc. you are invited to wear your relevant uniforms or colours, others attending are invited to dress in neat casual.

You are also invited to share your memories of Mick at the celebration with those gathered during precedings. However if you wish to have something read out on your behalf, please send the information to

If you would like any further information, please contact Horsham Motor Sports Club or Horsham & District Funerals.

Celebration of Mick Fitzgerald

Michael ‘Mick’ Fitzgerald
21/03/52 to 03/10/18

Members and families of the Horsham Motor Sports Club ‘Blue Ribbon Raceway’ extend their deepest sympathy to Sue and the family of our fellow member and friend.

Mick has been our President since 2008, a life member since 2007 and a committee member for some years prior.

‘A committed and hard working member with a heart of Gold’

A celebration for the life of Mick Fitzgerald will be held on Wednesday 10th October from 2pm at Blue Ribbon Raceway, 1650 Blue Ribbon Road, Kalkee.

You are invited to bring photos and share your memories of your times with Mick. Light refreshments, Tea & Coffee and Beer & Wine provided

Speedway Season Ends with old Fashion Picnic

VINTAGE: Jamie Pridham gets up close and under the wheel of Dave Monaro. PHOTO: M&L Speedwawy Photography
VINTAGE: Jamie Pridham gets up close and under the wheel of Dave Monaro.
PHOTO: M&L Speedwawy Photography

Horsham Motor Sports Club brought their 2017/18 season to a close over the Queens Birthday long weekend with an old fashioned Sunday Butchers Picnic.

Featuring Wingless Sprints, Limited Sportsman, Three Litre Sedans, SSA Juniors, Street Stocks, three Vintage Classes and Horshams own V8 Trucks and, as a salute to the past, mechanics were strapped into the cars they work and set loose to strut their stuff.

A small amount of rain hit the track in the days before and the track crew  worked hard to prepare the racing surface. As usual the track came up beautifully and it was a credit to the team. Continue reading Speedway Season Ends with old Fashion Picnic

Speedway Carnival to end Season

HOOKED UP: Wingless Sprints are sure to entertain the crowd at the Speedway Carnival at Blue Ribbon Raceway. PHOTO: M&L Speedway Photography
HOOKED UP: Wingless Sprints are sure to entertain the crowd at the Speedway Carnival at Blue Ribbon Raceway.
PHOTO: M&L Speedway Photography

Another successful season for the Horsham Motor Sports Club is coming to a climactic end on the Queens Birthday weekend this Saturday and Sunday.

After a long season of Club, State and National titles, this weekend will hark back to the early days of speedway with a two day meeting featuring many of the classes that have been the backbone of speedway in the region and the sport.

Continue reading Speedway Carnival to end Season

Horsham Motorsports Club Inc.